Your Account
close button

Use our patient tools for secure, convenient, 24/7 access. Learn more

This facility is a member of

Connect with us:


Four AMITA Health Hospitals Recognized For Providing Safe, High-Quality, Cost-Efficient Specialty Care
(ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, Ill., March 24, 2016) – The Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association’s Blue Distinction® Centers program has recognized four AMITA Health hospitals for delivering safe, high-quality and cost-efficient specialty care.

The hospitals include:

AMITA Health Adventist Medical Center, Bolingbrook, and AMITA Health Adventist Medical Center, GlenOaks, both recognized for maternity care.
AMITA Health Alexian Brothers Medical Center, Elk Grove Village, recognized for cardiac care, knee and hip replacement, maternity care and spine surgery.
AMITA Health St. Alexius Medical Center, Hoffman Estates, recognized for knee and hip replacement, maternity care and spine surgery.
Each of the hospitals received the Blue Distinction® Centers+ designation for the specialty or specialties for which the hospital was recognized. The designation is the highest awarded by the Blue Distinction Centers program.

“AMITA Health is committed to delivering coordinated, holistic and comprehensive care of the highest quality,” says Mark A. Frey, AMITA Health President and Chief Executive Officer. “These recognitions from Blue Cross and Blue Shield reflect our healthcare professionals’ unwavering dedication to this objective.”

The Blue Distinction Centers program is designed to help patients find healthcare facilities that have demonstrated better overall outcomes. The program also is intended to encourage healthcare professionals to improve the quality and delivery of care.

The program evaluates hospitals on overall quality measures for patient safety and outcomes that were developed with input from the medical community. Blue Distinction Centers+ must meet the same quality criteria as Blue Distinction Centers and must go a step further by meeting cost measures that address consumers’ need for affordable healthcare. Research shows that Blue Distinction Centers+, on average, are 20 percent more cost-efficient than healthcare facilities that have not earned the designation.

These latest recognitions bring to six the number of AMITA Health hospitals that have received the Blue Distinction Centers+ designation. AMITA Health Adventist Medical Center, Hinsdale, has earned the designation for cardiac care and maternity care, and AMITA Health Adventist Medical Center, LaGrange, has been recognized for maternity care. In addition, AMITA Health Elk Grove Village and AMITA Health Hoffman Estates have earned the distinction for bariatric surgery, including gastric stapling and gastric banding.

For more information about the Blue Distinction Centers program, and to see a complete list of facilities designated as Blue Distinction Centers and Blue Distinction Centers+, visit

About AMITA Health

AMITA Health ( is an integrated health system serving communities in western and northwestern suburban Chicago. AMITA Health is a Joint Operating Company formed in February 2015 by Adventist Midwest Health, based in Hinsdale, Ill., and Alexian Brothers Health System, based in Arlington Heights, Ill., encompassing nine hospitals and an extensive physician provider network of more than 3,000 physicians.

About Blue Cross Blue Shield Association

The Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association is a national federation of 36 independent, community-based and locally operated Blue Cross and Blue Shield companies that collectively provide healthcare coverage for nearly 105 million members – or one in three Americans. For more information on the Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association and its member companies, visit