Your Account
close button

Use our patient tools for secure, convenient, 24/7 access. Learn more

This facility is a member of

Connect with us:


Adventist Hinsdale Hospital Nurse Receives National Recognition

 News Release: March 23, 2015

Adventist Hinsdale Hospital Nurse Receives National Recognition

Nurse Manager Robin Alvarado honored as “Nurse of the Year” 2014 by Press Ganey for her influential role in improving the patient experience.


Hinsdale, IL – Robin Alvarado, a nurse manager at Adventist Hinsdale Hospital, was honored with the first ever annual Nurse of the Year Award from Press Ganey, the industry leader in measuring, understanding and improving patient experience.  To win the prestigious award, nurses must be nominated by their peers via an extensive application process that includes a patient testimonial, CEO recommendation and documented care improvement. 

A superior leader with a commitment to providing compassionate, connected care to every patient on her unit, Alvarado was able to significantly improve patient care and safety at Adventist Hinsdale Hospital by working with her team to develop an action plan focused on transparency, accountability, proactivity and recognition.

Ms. Alvarado is thrilled to receive the award, but notes that it was the support of her incredible team (3 Surgical) that helped drive the results, “I thank my staff for the opportunity to work with them and implement these changes.  It has truly been a collaboration – from every nurse to my wonderful nurse director, Lynn Wagner, to our chief nursing officer Shawn Tyrrell
.  I am blessed to be working here at Adventist Hinsdale Hospital where we strive to make a positive difference with every patient, every day.”

 “Robin is a phenomenal example of how one nurse can truly enhance the quality and delivery of care to benefit patients,” said Christy Dempsey, CNO, Press Ganey.  “For this reason, I’m delighted to recognize her as our first Nurse of the Year.”

Thanks to Alvarado’s efforts and leadership, overall perception of care and nurse communication scores for her unit moved from the 20th and 6th percentiles, respectively, to above the 90th percentile for both key indicators.  These results, as well as other significant documented improvements, led Press Ganey’s CNO Advisory Council to select Alvarado for the award over many other worthy nominees from across the country.  

“It’s because of this remarkable change during the course of three years that we nominated Robin as Press Ganey’s Nurse of the Year,” said Sandra Mueller, director of service excellence at Adventist Hinsdale Hospital.  Shawn Tyrrell, the Hospital’s chief nursing officer, adds, “We are so proud that Robin is part of our Adventist Hinsdale Hospital community.  She is a shining example of how compassionate, caring nurse leaders can inspire teams to deliver their best for their patients, their co-workers, and themselves.”  Ms. Alvarado is also a finalist for the 2015 Nursing Excellence Gem Award, to be given out on May 8, 2015.

In addition to receiving the Nurse of the Year Award, Adventist Hinsdale Hospital, and fellow Adventist Health System facility Shawnee Mission Medical Center, also were honored with Guardian of Excellence Awards in patient experience by Press Ganey. This nationally-recognized symbol of achievement in health care is presented annually to facilities that consistently sustain performance in the top five percent of all Press Ganey clients for each reporting period during the course of one year.  


Adventist Midwest Health includes Adventist Bolingbrook Hospital, Adventist GlenOaks Hospital, Adventist Hinsdale Hospital and Adventist La Grange Memorial Hospital. To find a physician, visit

Physicians on the medical staff of Adventist Midwest Health Hospitals are independent contractors, and are not agents of the hospitals.

Media contact: Julie Busch, regional director, Communications, Adventist Midwest Health,; (630) 856-2353.