Your Account
close button

Use our patient tools for secure, convenient, 24/7 access. Learn more

This facility is a member of

Connect with us:


Nurse leader recognized for achievements
La Grange – As a manager of the GI lab/endoscopy at Adventist La Grange Memorial Hospital, Candice Washilewski, RN, BSN, has not only touched the lives of the patients that she treats, but also the community as a whole.

For her commitment to Adventist Midwest Health’s mission of extending the healing ministry of Christ, this Dyer, Ind., resident was one of five Adventist Midwest Health leaders to receive the organization’s inaugural pillar award July 21 at Adventist Midwest Health’s leadership development institute, held at the Abbington Distinctive Banquets in Glen Ellyn.

Under her leadership Washilewski has reduced turnover, helped increase volume by 12.5 percent, and improved productivity to 100 percent. She worked with the business development team to write a pro forma to support opening a third endoscopy suite, which became operational in June. Washilewski also organized a colorectal cancer fundraiser that brought in $30,000 for the Colon Cancer Coalition.

“Candice works closely with the physicians to deliver quality care and an excellent patient experience,” said Mary Murphy, RN, MSN, vice president/chief nursing officer at Adventist La Grange Memorial Hospital. “Whether it’s planning a social event to raise awareness, or giving her time to a patient, she is always willing to lend a helping hand.”

After earning a bachelor’s degree in nursing from Indiana Wesleyan University, Washilewski spent 13 years as an endoscopy supervisor. In 2007 she joined Adventist La Grange Memorial Hospital.

Pillar Award nominations were solicited from Adventist Midwest Health’s senior leadership team. To be eligible for a pillar award, leaders must demonstrate their commitment to the organization’s standards of behavior: sense, help, acknowledge, respect and explain. They must also demonstrate measurable results on the quarterly goals set for their departments. These goals are organized under the seven categories, or pillars, of spiritual life, people, clinical, service, community, growth, and stewardship.

One pillar award winner is chosen from each of the organization’s four suburban hospitals and a fifth winner is chosen from among the organization’s non-hospital programs and shared services support departments. Pillar awards will be presented at the organization’s quarterly leadership development institutes, held in January, April, July and October.